Speaker Series

Speaker Series: Past Presenters

Below is a list of Speaker Series past presenters from 2016-2019.

Speaker Series Presenters 

2016 - 2017

Topic Presenter
Taos Land Trust Matthew Van Buren
Art & Culture of The Blake Steve Rose
US Forest Service Kevin Lehto and Jack Lewis
B-Corp Certification Dawn Boulware
Taos Community Foundation Laurie Mitchell Dunn
St. Bernard Lodge/Taos Snowsports School Jean Mayer
Taos Avalanche Center Andy Bond, Graham Turner, avy dog “Erna”
Taos Avalanche Dogs Robert Willette “Willie and loyal colleague Dannon”
Nature Conservancy Laura McCarthy / Terry Sullivan
Taos School of Music Kathleen Anderson
Mountain Skills Climbing Taos Rock author Jay Foley
Taos Historical Society A Brief History of Taos author Bob Romero
Fall Arts Festival Paul Figueroa
Taos Center for the Arts Deborah McClean
Paseo Project Matt Thomas
Art Taos Jason Rodriguez
New Mexico Geologist Paul Bauer
Vara Wines Doug Deifenthaler
Taos Hiking Guide Cindy Brown
Taos Pueblo Artist and Author Jonathan Warm Day
Taos Ski Valley Mickey Blake

2017 - 2018

Topic Presenter
Taos Community Chorus Taos Community Chorus
Storytelling Cisco Guevara
Queen of the River Consultants Mike Mitchell
Ski Author Daniel Gibson
Taos Pioneers Jean Mayer, Dadou Mayer, Max Killinger, Elisabeth Brownell, Walter Ruegg, Rick Richards, Mickey Blake
Poet and Photographer Lawrence Gregory & Birgit Gutche
Business Programmer for TEN Rose Reza
Founder of Teaography Dana Blair
Executive Director of Not Forgotten Outreach Don Peters
10th Mountain Division Historian Tommy Thompson
The Nature Conservancy Terry Sullivan
Sierra Nevada’s LEED Cert Jason Benedict
UNM International Mountain Medicine Center Director Jason Williams
Harwood Museum Board Member Dora Dillistone
Director of The Taos School of Music Kathleen Anderson
Fish & Game Naturalist Steve Tapia
Pueblo Pottery Today Charles King, Autumn Borts Medlock, Susan Fowler
Trinchera Environmental Manager Craig Taggart
US Forest Service Jack Lewis and Erica Enjady
Rocky Mountain Youth Corps Ben Thomas
Air and Space pioneer Wally Funk
Fall Arts Festival President Paul Figueroa
Fall Arts Poster Artist / Murals David Vedoe
“Night of Philanthropy,” Taos Community Foundation Lisa O’Brian

Chris Scharrer

2018 - 2019

Dr. Quigley Peterson

Mogul Medical

Dave Hahn Expedition Leader- Taos Ski Patrol
Jean Mayer Hotel St. Bernard
Dadou Mayer Hotel St. Bernard
Jack Lewis The US Forest Service
Gabe Donaldson TREX The Nature Conservancy
JR Logan Cerro Negro Forest Council
Laura McCarthy New Mexico State Forrester
Rene Romero Taos Pueblo Fuels Manager
Ilona Spruce Taos Pueblo Director of Tourism
Cheryl Romero Taos Ski Valley Inc. Administrative Office Manager
Sheryl Romero Red Willow Farm Coordinator
Maria Samora Taos Artist and jewelry designer
Ted Wiard Executive Director of the Golden Willow Retreat
Syd Schultz and Macky Franklin Professional Mountain Bike Racers
Lisa O'Brien Taos Community Foundation


2019 - 2020

Topic Presenter
A Night of Philanthropy Taos Ski Valley Chamber of Commerce
Taos Ski Valley Mountain Biking Day Taos Mountain Biking Association


Our Partners
  • US Forest Service
  • Protect Our Winters
  • Leitner Poma
  • Sandia Automotive